HelpSpot Help Desk Software | HelpSpot Blog | HelpSpot Support

Graphical Issues (Internet Explorer)

Hi Ian, and other HS Staff

I’ve been using HS for about 6 years, across 3 companies, and I love it. I’m starting the roll-out of a second installation of Helpspot at my current company, for the Plant & Logistics division, and have a question.

I was wondering if there is any development effort being put towards correcting the graphical glitches present in the HS Admin back-end when using Internet Explorer?

As with many companies, we mandate that Internet Explorer is the primary (usually only) browser installed on client machines. Our Sharepoint custom web parts, Nintex workflows and some of the custom CRM web apps we use don’t play nicely with non-IE browsers.

Unfortunately HS exhibits quite a few graphical glitches in IE that don’t show in FireFox or Chrome. Reporting tags have an ugly space in the middle, request details overflow boundaries, buttons randomly move on mouseover, etc

When it was only the IT department that was OK (we can break restrictions and use Chrome…) but I’ve now got about 20 non-technical users using the admin back-end in IE and I’m concerned the glitches will impact on usability.

I’m aware that cross-platform development is quite difficult, and that it’s easy for people to blame IE for not being as compliant as other browsers - but given the prevalence of IE in the workplace and HS being targetted towards businesses, I’m surprised to see these issues persisting for so long. I’ve noticed them ever since v3 (which in every respect, is fantastic) and they haven’t been corrected by 3.15. I’ve searched for similar posting in the forums here but can’t find anything.